Irish moving to Toronto

Hey there everybody! I am new to this so not sure if I am even doing this right. My name is Thomas. I am from Tipperary in Ireland and I am looking to move to Toronto to live and work for at least a year (hopefully more seems as how hard it is to get work here now). I am a fully qualified Carpenter and would love to know if anyone out there can help me in anyway possible ie good agencies to contact, what areas are the best for construction work so on and so forth. Any help would be very very much appreciated :)
Also, I am moving on my own and am kinda freaking out about a place to live for the first while anyway and was wondering if anyone knew good places to move that won't get me killed ;0 and even where to go to meet new people and friends.
I really hope someone out there can help me, a lot of people have told me how helpful people can be on this :)
Thanks and I hope to hear back soon.

Hi Thomas!

Welcome to Expat.com ;)

Armand

Hiya Thomas :D

Have you gotten any help, yet? If you do, feel free to drop me a message -- I didn't want to get into things here because I wasn't sure whether or not you'd already received the information.

It'd be my pleasure to help you out :)

hey how are you. Actually I have had a lot of things answered but still the most confusing thing is where to move?? You know Toronto is a huge place.

shanks00001 wrote:

hey how are you. Actually I have had a lot of things answered but still the most confusing thing is where to move?? You know Toronto is a huge place.

hey thomas, i've lived in toronto my whole life so happy to give you some suggestions on recreation, neighbourhoods, subtleties etc.(if you still want/need any). hope you enjoy toronto. it has a lot to offer especially since we're so ethnically diverse. btw, my family originates (partially) from tipperary (i've yet to visit ireland).
cheers,