Moving to Guangzhou

hi everyone,

I am moving to guangzhou at the end of June 2012 for a 1 year work placement. I am looking to make some new contacts so that i know some people when i arrive. I will be teaching english for a company out of my University, housing will be paid for and i'll recieve a monthly stipend of 5,000 rmb for the first 3 months then going up to 7,000 rmb. is this enough to live on?? i have no idea what the costs of everyday living are and need to know if i should be saving to help supplement my income. also are there alot of americans living in guangzhou and typically how do you feel about the city? what is there to do? do you find the people there friendly? i love the outdoors, music, bars/clubs, culture, adventure. thanks to all who reply and looking forward to making some new friends.

Tim

Tim,

I'm new to GZ but I like it thus far...except for the apartment hunters/scammers service.  The food is the biggest surprise for me thus far (amazing!), but there aren't very many english speaking chinese people, which is making it tough. 

It's funny that you state your income on a forum, but if you're ok with that then so am I.  Something tells me that that's just a ball park figure anyways.  ;)

Taking into consideration a US conversion rate, you're looking at about $1200/month, which is really up to you to decide if that's good enough, but it seems like you're young and it would be a good experience to just be here anyways.  Things are about 30% cheaper for me and there's no tax so that's a bonus!

Don't know enough about this place to comment further, but I'll know better after at least one drunken bar hopping night.

Derek

Ahhh i luv Christina Aguilera, Rihanna n Beyonce:cool: They're the queens to me hah!
Plus ur salary is pretty decent here as most of graduates' r much lower than yours.. So no worry about it.

Derek