Lake Chapala - Hi I am new to the forum

Hi,  I have just joined the forum today.  I am doing a Masters in International studies at the University of Technology, Sydney and next year will be doing a 6 month in-country study based at the Universidad de Guadalajara.  I would really like to learn more about the area and expand my knowledge.  I have some particular interest in the education programs for women in the Lake Chapala area.  If anyone can tell me a little about those that exist, who is involved in their organisation or a contact I would greatly appreciate it.
Also would love to hear about any experiences, stories from this area.

regards
Diane

Welcome Diane, I hope you find the answers you're looking for !

Welcome Diane!

Hello, I too am new to the forum and would like very much to get information from expats themselves. Since I have started gathering info I have been plagued with real estate developers offering me expensive tours, free dvds, and long winded raps on the advantages of buying now, now, before prices go up any further! Going to Amazon, I purchased several books by expats that were very informative. BUT the publication date on every one was the year 2000.
   I am sure things have changed since then. I do not want to lock myself behind gates. I would really appreciate some direction on where to start. I would like to fly down from Denver later this year and start to find the place that seems right to me. I am interested in the San Miguel Allende area, and around Lake Chapala. But at this point I am relying on info that is almost 10 years old. Does anyone have at least one tip on how to find my dream?

Hi Heuso, I donŽt know if there`s such courses like the education programs for women, usualy in méxico there are programs for adult education, but never directed exclusively to women, if you want to know more about mexican culture viewed from alien eyes, I invite you ti visit my blog (in spanish)

ladybug18,