Explore the countryside?

I am new to this city. Previously I taught English in Zunyi for 3 years - much smaller and an easy place to get to know people. I now wonder if it will be the same here? In a city like this, it is so easy to be invisible and lost, on many levels.

Anyway, this is what is called being proactive in wishing to meet people and hopefully make new friends; although the word 'friend' is too loosely used these days. But must start somewhere.

I'm not really interested in visiting places where westerners hang-out; I don't need to drink Guinness or Heineken at inflated prices, although I wouldn't say no to a good German beer. What I really want is to get into the countryside. If you're up for this, please get in touch.

Geof

Hello Geof and welcome to Expat.com!

Harmonie.:)

We don't have nice countryside here, the best part of Guangzhou is some old lane or streets with lots local restaurants, with the local brand "Zhujiang(Pearl River) beer".

Ur words about "friend" seems quite sad, im some kind of business guy will say "hello my friend" to someone new...>_<

Thanks for your welcome. I was thinking about the mountains outside of the city, I'm sure there must be some great views and fresh air there. Do you go there?

Geof

Cum to my hometown where has all u want: trees, mountains, fresh air, water n everything, haha

And where is your hometown???

GeofW wrote:

And where is your hometown???

Nanxiong Shaoguan, at the north of GD province.

There are a few lovely 'mountains', which I would rather call 'hills', in Guangzhou. For example, Dafu Hill in Panyu, Baiyun Mountain in Baiyun District and Maofeng Hill in northeastern Guangzhou. If you want to go a bit further, there are Nankun Mountain in Huizhou (http://www.yododo.com/area/1-01-05-16-1219) and Danxia Mountain in Shaoguan (http://www.yododo.com/area/1-01-05-33-1289). You can actually live on or at the foot of the mountains to breathe in the fresh air.