Advice!! Explaining your move to Bahrain (or M.E.) to family

Good Day!
I am so excited to have found this site! I am a teacher currently looking at a position in Bahrain and other areas in the M.E. I am hoping to hear from other expats regarding moving and explaining it to their family (especially with the recent events). The day I mentioned the idea to my family it was not a pretty sight! Concerns of unrest, being kidnapped, blown up, jailed, treated as a servant, held hostage, degraded as a woman, and any other negative thing you can think of! :rolleyes:
So how did you handle it? Any advice regarding this topic or any "good to know" info is greatly appreciated.

My background:
I am an African American Female
Married (husband will need to find a job)
have a small dog that will be joining the travels!
christian-I will want to attend church

Places I am considering: Bahrain, Qatar, and UAE

Hello happytru and welcome to Expat.com!

Have you gone through the different posts of the forum?

They may contain some ideas about everyday life which will be helpful to you.

I hope that other members will share their experience with you soon, and that your family will understand you.

All the best,
Harmonie.:)

Hi Happytru and welcome to the forum,

Like Harmony said you'll find a lot of answers just browsing the posts of the last months. If you have any more precise question feel free to come back here we'll try to help you as much as we can.
Just a little warning though, as far as I know (maybe some other members can confirm) it's not allowed by the law for a female worker to bring her family on her visa. A man could do that but not a woman :(
I think there are 2 exceptions : nurses & teachers, so it seems you might be on the safe side, but make sure you won't face any trouble.