Costof living in phuket

My wife and I have been holidaying in Patong for the last 5 years.
we are going to apply for a 1 year Thai visa in 2012,(the date we not sure of at this time). We are interested in staying in the Phuket area.On completion if things go to plan we want to  retire in Thailand. My question is approximately how much money is needed to live on in this area.

Hello john mercer and welcome to Expat.com!

I hope that other members will help you soon.

Harmonie.:)

Now that is a really tough question! it is so based on your personal lifestyle... But Phuket is expensive on average compared to anywhere else in Thailand.

phuket101, thanks for the reply.
Being a tourist area would be expensive, didn't think of that one. Maybe that's why so many ex-pats live up north.
We are leaning towards the areas we like are Nai Harn, Chalong and Rawrai districts.  (but keeping a open mind)
The area you live good ?
regards
john & debbie

A lot of expats seems to like the south... it's nice and has a good restaurants and lifestyle, and Nai Harn beach is really beautiful. Problem is the traffic at rush hour, it has become crazy, now if you don't need to go in and out at these time, it is a nice place to be. I live in Kathu which is more strategic to go to my office in town, takes me less than 10 mn some days :)
Willy

Willy,
we looked at a few places in the Kathu area which was in our price range. Then we drifted south, having said that as long as there's a pool we would be happy. At this stage we would like to be around ex-pats just for her piece of mind. Don't speak much Thai. WE are thinking of using a company called "Siamese visa" to set us up, have you a view about these company's
John & Debbie

John,