Close
Follow all our news on Facebook!

Transport in New Zealand

Recommend

It is pretty easy to move around New Zealand. Different means of transport are available. Here is an overview...

Are you wondering how to move around New Zealand, how to go to work every day or go shopping? There are different means of transport in the country. You can choose among the bus, train, plane, ferry, etc. You can even travel by taxi or rent a car if you have an international driver's license.

Aircraft

New Zealand is well served by many airline companies. The two main islands, the North Island and the South Island are connected by regional airports. Aircraft is the fastest way to travel from one island to the other. However, ticket prices for domestic routes are rather affordable. Some companies even offer attractive packages at competitive rates.

 Useful links:

Air New Zealand www.airnewzealand.co.nz
Emirates www.emirates.com
Jet Star www.jetstar.com
Virgin www.virginaustralia.com
Qantas www.qantas.com.au

Train and subway

Train in New Zealand is rather considered as a leisure mean of transportation. It is one of the most comfortable means of transport to travel over long distances at affordable prices. Different lines serve a major part of the country although these are not very developed. There are also urban lines in various major New Zealand cities.

Moreover, you can access to bus passes allowing you to travel at attractive rates for specific periods.

 Useful links:

Kiwi Rail www.kiwirail.co.nz
New Zealand Midway Railway Company www.mrht.org.nz
Tranz Metro www.tranzmetro.co.nz
Transdev www.transdev.co.nz

Bus

New Zealand has several bus companies serving the two main islands. Rates are very affordable on all lines. You can even choose the flexi-pass system which allows you to travel on two different networks during a year at reduced rates. These cards can be recharged according to the number of hours of travel. There are regional and international passes with a predetermined route. You can also take the bus terminal or bus stop and pay the fare once you are on board.

As for longer journeys, you are advised to make advance booking.

 Useful links:

NZ Bus www.nzbus.co.nz
Inter City www.intercity.co.nz
Johnstons Coaches www.johnstons.co.nz
Go Wellington www.gowellingtonbus.co.nz
Naked Bus nakedbus.com

Ferry

You can also travel from one island to another by ferry. This is one of the cheapest, fastest and most easily accessible means of transport. Several ferry companies operate between the South Island and North Island. Fares usually start as from NZ$ 60. You can also take your car from one island to another, but rates may be higher.

The trip generally lasts about 3 hours.

 Useful links:

Inter Island Ferry www.interislander.co.nz
Blue Bridge Ferry www.bluebridge.co.nz
Cook Straight Ferry www.experiencenz.com
NZ Travel Link www.travelink.co.nz

Taxi

To travel by taxi, you can do advance booking by phone or online, or you can simply stop them in the street. Rates are rather affordable, varying according to the distance traveled. Most taxis are equipped with a meter. You will pay the price shown above at the end of your trip.

 Useful links:

Coop Taxi www.cooptaxi.co.nz
Wellington Taxis www.taxis.co.nz
Alert Taxi www.alerttaxis.co.nz
Green Cabs www.greencabs.co.nz

Rent a car

To rent a car, you will need your original driver's license which will be recognized for a year or an international driver's license. Documents to be produced to the car rental agency are your ID card or passport, proof of address as well as an international credit card.

 Good to know:

You will drive on the left side of the road in New Zealand. Speed limits are set at 100 km/h on main roads, 70 km/h in urban areas and 50 km/h in the cities.

 Useful links:

New Zealand Rent A Car www.nzrentacar.co.nz
Avis www.avis.co.nz
Go Rentals www.gorentals.co.nz
Ace Rental Cars www.acerentalcars.co.nz
Escape Rentals www.escaperentals.co.nz

Recommend
expat.com Your favourite team
Member since 01 June 2008
Small earth, Mauritius
Write a comment

See also

Hamilton, in New Zealand, has a thriving and booming economy. Several sectors such as industry, research, technology are recruiting foreign manpower.
Dunedin, in New Zealand, offers many job opportunities in various sectors, including information technology and communication, education, tourism, etc.
The economy of Christchurch, is mainly based on the agriculture and agri-food exports. There are also many industries which have a huge employment potential.
Wellington, in New Zealand, has a dynamic labor market. It is possible to find a job in the fields of engineering, ICT, tourism, etc.
Several types of sports are practiced in New Zealand: rugby, cricket, golf, basketball, boating, etc. You can enroll in a club or just attend tournaments.

Expatriate health insurance in New Zealand

Free advice and quotation service to choose an expat health insurance in New Zealand

Moving to New Zealand

Find tips from professionals about moving to New Zealand

Travel insurance in New Zealand

Enjoy a stress-free travel across New Zealand

Flights to New Zealand

Find the best prices for your flight tickets to New Zealand