Close

Transports in Spain

Recommend

Spain has various means of transports, namely trains, subways, buses, taxis, etc. Here is an overview of the Spanish public transport network.

During your stay in Spain, you will definitely have to move from one place to another, whether to go to work or to visit the country during your leisure time. Spain hosts different means of transport: plane, train, subway, bus, etc., from which you can choose according to your needs. You can also travel by taxi or even rent a car if you have a valid driver's license. You can also find tourist transports such as tourist trains and coach buses.

Aircraft

Visitors and expatriates coming from Europe or elsewhere may travel to Spain or from Spain to other countries by air. Spain has many airline companies as well as regional and international airports. Almost all major Spanish cities have their own airport. Hence, airline companies also offer domestic and regional flights in addition to international flights. Traveling from one city to another by plane will definitely be less time-consuming if you are on a business trip in the country or you wish to discover more of the country, for example.

You may be eligible to promotional rates during some seasons. Some small airline companies also offer cheaper flights.

 Useful links:

Iberia www.iberia.com
Aero Nova www.aeronova.com
Air Europa www.aireuropa.com
Air Nostrum www.airnostrum.es
Albastar www.albastar.es

Train

The train remains one of the most convenient and cheapest ways to travel through Spain. You can enjoy clean and comfortable trains anywhere in the country. In major Spanish cities, you will especially find commuter trains. But you can also find classic regional trains, as well as tourist trains which will allow you to explore the country's wonderful landscapes during long trips.

Travel rates are quite affordable. Tickets can be purchased at the train station or at Red Nacional de Ferrocarriles Españoles (RENFE) "atención al cliente" offices. You may also use the InterRail Pass. However, advance booking is recommended.

 Useful links:

Inter Rail es.interrail.eu
EuRail es.eurail.com
Europa Trenes www.europatrenes.com
Trans Canta Brico www.renfe.com

Subway

Major Spanish cities have a developed and reliable subway network. Most subways are secure and comfortable. These mainly link the different cities and neighborhoods to one another. Madrid, on its own, has twelve subway lines, while Barcelona has ten lines and Malaga has three. Other lines are currently underway in other Spanish cities. Bilbao, for its part, comprises two subway lines while Sevilla has a single line and Valencia has six. 

On the other hand, a few cities such as Valencia, Bilbao and Alicante event host tramway networks. 

 Useful links:

Metro Madrid www.metromadrid.es
Metro Barcelona www.metrobarcelona.es
Metro Bilbao www.metrobilbao.net
Metro Valencia www.metrovalencia.es
Metro Sevilla www.metro-sevilla.es

Bus

The bus is undoubtedly one of the most practical means of transport in Spain like in most European countries. In fact, Spanish simply love to travel by bus. The country has a very good bus network which can take you anywhere you want, including through expressways. Moreover, most bus companies connect the different towns and villages to the Spanish capital city, Madrid.

But you can also find tourist or coach buses if you wish to travel through the countryside. Rates are very affordable, varying according to your route. In general, urban bus tickets can be purchased at the bus station. But for tourist bus, advance booking is advised. Hence, a 100 kilometers trip will cost 5 to 8 euros. You will find all related information on the Movelia website.

 Useful links:

Alsa www.alsa.es
CheckMyBus www.checkmybus.es
Movelia www.movelia.es

Taxi

If you would like to travel more comfortably, alone or with your family, you can hire a taxi as well. These can be found anywhere in Spain. You can just wave at them to stop on the street. Taxis are usually white in color wih a green display on the roof, indicating that they are available. Moreover, you can now use several phone applications to book a taxi in Spain. Make sure to indicate your area so as to receive the most appropriate suggestions.

Spanish taxis are generally equiped with a meter. You will thus pay the indicated fare at the end of the trip. Moreover, fares have to be indicated on a sticker at the rear. You can also request for a receipt. For short distance, on the other hand, count at least 20 euros. 

 Useful links:

Páginas amarillas www.paginasamarillas.es
Taxis Barcelona taxisbarcelona.org
Pide Taxi pidetaxi.es
My Taxi es.mytaxi.com
Hailo www.hailoapp.com

Rent a car

You can also rent a car if you have a valid driver's license. But you must be more than 20 years old to be allowed to rent a car in Spain. Documents to be produced are your passport or identity card, your driver's license and credit card.

 Good to know:

Speed limit is fixed at 120 km/h on motorways and at 100 km/h on four lane roads. Furthermore, the use of mobile phones while driving, even with a hands-free kit, is strictly prohibited and is liable to a fine.

 Useful links:

Rental Cars www.rentalcars.com
Easy Car www.easycar.com
Europcar www.europcar.com
Hertz www.hertz.com
Avis www.avis.com
Sixt car-rental.sixt.com

Recommend
expat.com Your favourite team
Member since 01 June 2008
Small earth, Mauritius
Write a comment

See also

Barcelona, Catalonia's economic center, attracts not only young professionals but also many foreign companies and investors looking for new opportunities.
Madrid's labor market has been facing a shortage of qualified and skilled workforce since some time. Hence, it is open to young foreign professionals.
Malaga has been one of the most affected Spanish cities by the global economic crisis. Hence its high unemployment rate during recent years.

Expatriate health insurance in Spain

Free advice and quotation service to choose an expat health insurance in Spain

Moving to Spain

Find tips from professionals about moving to Spain

Travel insurance in Spain

Enjoy a stress-free travel across Spain

Flights to Spain

Find the best prices for your flight tickets to Spain