Close

Work in India

Recommend

Looking for a job in India? Here are some tips to help you land a job.

India has not only a developed and diversified economy but also an open labor market which is very welcoming towards foreign professionals. Over the years, many of them have turned to this huge Asian country so as to take advantage of the numerous opportunities it provides. You can also join in the adventure if you feel you can adapt to the local cultures and lifestyles, and if you fit in the local labor market's requirements. Note that good communication skill are required when working in India, that is a good knowledge of English in particular. You also have to be patient and determined.

Note that several major Indian cities, such as Mumbai, New Delhi, Pondicherry, Kolkata and Bangalore, host important expatriate communities, including US, European and African nationals.

Find a job

Internet

During your job search, you are more likely to start by browsing offers on the Internet thanks to several general and specialized job websites. These will also give you a better idea of required job profiles and salaries offered. Consider browsing professional social networks and other virtual platforms as well. You can even post your resume on some of these so that potential employers can directly get in touch with you.

 Useful links:

Expat.com – Jobs in India 
Jooble - https://in.jooble.org/
Iagora www.iagora.com
Monster India www.monsterindia.com
Career Jet www.careerjet.co.in
Naukri www.naukri.com
Linked In www.linkedin.com
Bayt www.bayt.com
Shine www.shine.com

Foreign Chambers of Commerce

Feel free to contact foreign Chambers of Commerce as well, as well as your home country's embassy or consulate in India, and any other diplomatic representatives which can help you during your job search. Consider sending spontaneous job applications to multinational and international companies operating across the country as well. You might be lucky! Who knows?

 Useful links:

The Council of European Chambers of Commerce in India www.euindiachambers.com
India International Chamber of Commerce www.iccindiaonline.org
Indian Labor – List of Chambers of Commerce and Industry indianlabour.org
BRICS Chamber of Commerce and Industry www.bricscci.com

Newspapers

Local newspapers, some of which are available online, can also be very helpful during your job search in India. Indeed, like in many Asian countries, job adverts are still published in newspapers.

 Useful links:

Times of India – Times Jobs www.timesjobs.com
Hindustan Times www.hindustantimes.com
The Hindu www.thehindu.com

Recruitment agencies

Finally, registering with a recruitment agency can help you find a job according to your profile more rapidly. Once you have landed a job, you will have to apply for an employment visa to be allowed into the Indian labor market.

 Useful links:

Randstad www.randstad.in
Kelly Services www.jobs.kellyservices.co.in
Indian Manpower www.indianmanpower.com

Recommend
expat.com Your favourite team
Member since 01 June 2008
Small earth, Mauritius
Write a comment

See also

Located in South-west India, Goa is mainly a tourism city. Indeed, tourism is its major economic pillar, hence providing many jobs.
Jaipur, capital city of the State of Rajasthan, is actually experiencing rapid economic growth thanks to its trade and industrial fields.
Kolkata is the most important city in West Bengal, also deemed to be East India's major commercial hub. It provides various opportunities for foreigners.
Located in South-west India, the State of Karnataka has a strong and developed economy providing many professional opportunities for expatriates.
If you are looking for career prospects in the State of Tamil Nadu, Pondicherry, which is a developed city, can be the ideal destination for you.

Expatriate health insurance in India

Free advice and quotation service to choose an expat health insurance in India

Moving to India

Find tips from professionals about moving to India

Travel insurance in India

Enjoy a stress-free travel across India

Flights to India

Find the best prices for your flight tickets to India