About Tanzania

Tanzania is the largest country in East Africa and has borders with Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Zambia, Malawi, and Mozambique. It is one of the oldest areas on Earth that has been continuously inhabited and, thus, a treasure chest of history. It is also the land of amazingly diverse landscapes, from the vast wildlife-rich ecosystem of Serengeti to the magical coastline of the Indian Ocean.

Tanzania takes up 945,087 square kilometres and has almost 58 million people. Most of the population is centred in the northern and eastern regions of the country and is made of over 120 ethnic groups. Both Swahili and English are Tanzania’s official languages but a number of smaller ethnic languages are also widely spoken.

Dodoma is Tanzania’s capital where all political activities take place, and Dar es Salaam is its former capital. Other big urban centres include Mwanza, Moshi, Mbeya, Tanga, and Kigoma. The semi-autonomous region of Zanzibar is one of the most popular travel destinations.

Tanzania’s economy is among the top poorest economies in the world when it comes to per capita income. However, the country’s income is growing due to many natural resources and increasing tourism. The majority of the population (65%) is still involved in agriculture which accounts for 85% of all of the country’s exports.

Most travellers come to Tanzania for its rich wildlife and photo safaris. Here, you can witness a wildebeest stampede, spot hippos playing in the waters of the muddy rivers, see monkeys swinging in the treetops, and observe elephant migrations. Some of the main travel highlights include the Serengeti National Park, Mount Kilimanjaro, Tarangire National Park, and Ngorongoro Conservation Area.

Residents of most countries will be able to obtain a visa on arrival in Tanzania while some can stay in the country visa-free for up to three months. Those who require a visa in advance will need to apply for one at a Tanzanian Embassy or Consulate.